In A Car Accident With An Uninsured Driver? You May Still Get Paid for Your Injuries.
According to the Missouri Department of Revenue (dor.mo.gov) Missouri law requires that all motor vehicle drivers and owners maintain some type of motor vehicle liability insurance coverage. Liability insurance covers your legal liability when injuries or property damage happen as a result of your actions. Missouri requires resident drivers carry a minimum of $25,000 liability per person for bodily injury.
Even if a driver carries the $25,000 minimum, more often than not, this amount is too small to cover the full bill for injuries sustained during the accident. Unfortunately, each year thousands of Missouri citizens are involved in automobile accidents with drivers who have not maintained the required automobile insurance. This results in unpaid damage claims and higher insurance premium rates for all Missourians.
If you have been in an accident with an uninsured driver, you may still get paid for your injuries under your “Uninsured Motorist Coverage” through your own insurance provider. Uninsured Motorist Coverage pays compensation to people injured by uninsured, negligent drivers. However, not all policies have this type of coverage, and often carrying this coverage will raise the premium on your own policy.
Twenty-one states (Missouri and Illinois included) require insurance companies to include uninsured motorist coverage in their policies. According to RSMo §379.203 on moga.mo.gov, the damages covered by these policies differ from policy to policy and from provider to provider, but normally a victim is legally entitled to recover damages from owners or operators of uninsured motor vehicles because of bodily injury, sickness or disease, including death, resulting therefrom.
If you are involved in an accident, it is important to know who may be considered an “uninsured motorist” under your policy. Moga.mo.gov identifies two types of persons who may be considered “uninsured” for the sake of recovering under your policy.
- Drivers who do not have insurance, and
- Unidentified hit and run drivers.
Some states recognize other uninsured drivers, such as drivers that do have insurance, but the amount of that coverage is less than the victim’s motorist coverage.
If you or someone you know is involved in an accident call us. We have over 30 years of experience fighting to maximize your recovery. Whether its handling the insurance companies or resolving worker’s comp claims as a result of your accident, we have the expertise to get you what you deserve.